I want to start a tax preparation service

Discussion in 'Accounting and Taxes' started by tdaniels32, Sep 30, 2013.

1. tdaniels32

tdaniels32
    uix_expand uix_collapse

I would like to start a tax preparation service. I have been doing taxes for 9 years mostly basic returns. I just moved to a new city and I'm not sure if I should start this business or wait until I get more credentials like an enrolled agent license. I know that I don't have to be an enrolled agent to prepare taxes and that is something that I am working towards any. I don't want to rent any office space, I was just thinking about doing more of a mobile/ drop off service thing. I want to get a laptop for business use and use an online tax program like Intuit's Tax Online cloud based software. I already have my PTIN and I am a member of the National Association of Tax Professionals (NATP). I would greatly appreciate any advice.

2. Changed Creation

Changed Creation
    uix_expand uix_collapse
    Premium Member
    Premium Member

Hi tdaniels32
    I like your idea and think it can work. However you need to figure out what people in the area you are thinking of operating in, really want with regards to Tax preparation. If you can supply a solution for a want, instead of for a need, it will help you stay out of price wars. Then you also need to find a way to introduce what you offer in one short sentence that describes what you do different as opposed to other tax preparation service providers out there. So figure out what you can uniquely offer, and put that in every connection you make with a client (your marketing material). If you do this well it will go a long way with your positioning in the market, and it of course implies that you know what the other service providers out there are also offering to your target market. Hope this helps.

:)

3. ArcSine

ArcSine
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Welcome to the forum, tdaniels32, and congrats on the new biz idea.