I want to build a website

Discussion in 'Website Development & Design' started by John Wadhams, Jan 4, 2011.

1. John Wadhams

John Wadhams
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Hi Members , I am hoping to build a website subscription based. I have little knowledge in It but want to know where to start. I have all the ideas for content and design on paper, I have researched some of the easy build programs but find the standard templates on offer are not what i want. I have approached a couple of web designers who do not seem to get the story so want to have a bash myself.
    Any suggestions will be very much appreciated.
    John :confused:

2. Fergal

Fergal
    uix_expand uix_collapse
    Premium Member
    Premium Member

Welcome to our business forum John, thanks for joining and posting. Please have a look at some of the previous discussions listed below. Hopefully they will help you, once you have had a look through them, please post back if you have any specific questions;

How To Set Up Your First Website with WordPress
    How To Set Up Your First Website For Beginners - Using Office Live
    What should i need to create my own website?

W3Schools is a great site if you are looking for some tutorials on website coding.

If your looking for a good book, I'd couldn't recommend "Build Your Own Web Site the Right Way Using HTML and CSS" by Ian Lloyd, highly enough. It clearly explains how to get started with HTML and teaches you proper coding habits from the outset. I've looked at a few books on HTML and this one is my favourite.

Good luck with your website and please do post back with your thoughts and any further questions.

3. junglekid

junglekid
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Why don't you search for related gigs at Fiverr on the Programming section?

4. OnlineHelper

OnlineHelper
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Hey John,