I own a successful company, run by someone who doesn't know what he's doing!

Discussion in 'Growing and Managing a Business' started by RoundBrick, Aug 26, 2014.

1. RoundBrick

RoundBrick
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Unfortunately, I think it might be time to find a new CPA. I've been working with him since I started my company in 2012. Back then he was very good at explaining things to me, but not so much anymore.
    I think these are pretty basic questions, so bear with me please. For reference, gross income was $26k for 2012, $38k for 2013, and is $33k for 2014 so far. I have very low overhead, and I’ve always worked another job to cover personal living expenses.

Taxes

I'm a resident of/reside in a state with fairly high personal and business income taxes. Every amateur that thought they knew something about business told me that I should incorporate in Nevada, so in 2012 I incorporated as a Nevada LLC. The company is web-based, mostly providing free online services and resources to a specific group of people, in a specific region of the US. The 2012 and 2013 taxes for the company were paid in a pass-through manner.

Question 1: If I was incorporated in my state, would I have had to pay any additional taxes, since it passed through me and I’m a resident here? I'm thinking in this situation I saw no benefit by being setup in Nevada versus my state.

At this point I was not taking a paycheck/draw from the company; it was all sitting in a business savings account. I spoke with my CPA after paying my 2013 taxes, and he recommended that put $5500 in an IRA, for a tax deduction, and that I file for my S election, which I did.