I need business advice

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by angelaspencer, Mar 13, 2013.

1. angelaspencer

angelaspencer
    uix_expand uix_collapse

My Husband and I have been running a construction business for a little over 2 years. We have struggled and made sacrifices to do so and have been surviving just fine so far. Over the holidays we hit a down time due to the holidays and people not wanting work completed at that time. My only complaint with my husband was over paying his help. Construction help for $125 day I thought was too much for a new struggling business. Then he found a jack of all trades and decided to give him 50% of all profits. That didn't work for me either and I talked him into going 60/40 split. He did not work out either as he had knowledge but was too old to actually perform work quickly. So my husband was doing all the work basically. Then his father, who started working for us when we first started, but due to lack of work in the beginning went to another job. Now, he steps in and says, well you gave this other guy 50% of your business, so now that you have work that you need help with, I will help you if you give me 50% of the business, legally. We did so. I did not know at the time that he said he would only work and help us if we gave him 50% owner as I suggested just hiring him as an employee. I was upset, because giving 50% of what we worked so hard to build, going thru ups and downs by ourselves, was not fair when he did not stand by our side in the beginning. But I decided to go with it. However, we just landed a $25,000 job and just started it when his father stepped in. Meanwhile, over the holidays and downtime, we went without pay and knew when this job started we would be able to catch our bills up. However, now his father, coming into the business with zero investment and zero sacrifice, said it was not fair that we now used half of his business money to catch up our debt, from the company before he started.