I don't want to be a non-profit ... so what should I do?

Discussion in 'Growing and Managing a Business' started by Thomas Aaron, Feb 14, 2013.

1. Thomas Aaron

Thomas Aaron
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Feb 14, 2013

I am a successful business owner at the cutting edge of a niche within a larger industry -- so much on the cutting edge of the niche that there are less than a dozen people in the country who can do what I do, although there are probably several thousands who are interested in learning how to do it. I really believe I am in one of those GO BIG OR GO HOME situations, in which I can spearhead something that is going to be mainstream five or ten years from now. Enough grandiose talk.

I have been thinking about starting a professional association to represent my niche. But there are four things that are holding me back:

1. I don't want a board of directors telling me how much money I can make as the president of a professional association.
    2. I don't want to put my blood, sweat and tears to build something only to risk being voted out after some set term of service.
    3. I would not be able to pass an association on to my children or sell it. (You may be getting the impression that I am a capitalist. You are indeed perceptive.)
    4. There currently are not enough practitioners of what I do to actually support a professional association (although there are enough potential consumers of what I do that, if they could be enticed to join, it might work).

All of that said, I do want to leap WAY out to the head of this niche and establish myself in a lasting way. Some of the ideas I've had about how to do this are:

1. I could start an academy that trains and certifies like-minded people to do what I do.