I am not able to pay for mortgage

Discussion in 'Self Improvement and Being Successful' started by Claracitta, Nov 1, 2008.

1. Claracitta

Claracitta
    uix_expand uix_collapse

I am 63 years old woman. Unfortunately I am not able to pay for mortgage and other living expanse. I looked into a reverse mortgage solution. Does It really help?

2. pendelton

pendelton
    uix_expand uix_collapse
    Premium Member
    Premium Member

Hey, Claracitta, welcome to BAF.

I do not know anything about Reverse Mortgages, so I am unable to help you out directly, but, I will quiz my contacts and see what I can learn for you.

3. Kay

Kay
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Hi Claracitta, welcome. I'm sorry to hear that and would like to try help you best I can.

I'm no expert on reverse mortgages but I know that you do need to be extra careful as there's a lot of scams out there. I'd suggest you look at trusted sites for seniors like the AARP site. They have a whole section devoted to the subject.

http://www.aarp.org/money/revmort/

You may also be interested in this USAToday article about what to look for.

http://www.usatoday.com/money/perfi/retirement/2008-01-17-boomer-reverse-mortgages_N.htm

Have you been in touch with your mortgage lender at all to explain the situation? It's important you let them know. I've worked in banking and I can tell you it happens every day. They'll do very best to come to a realistic arrangement with you if you just get in touch.

It may be better to see what they can offer before going down the road of a reverse mortgage. Sometimes it's a payment freeze for a certain amount of time or reduced payments. Please don't wait until it's overwhelming and you're way behind. The sooner, the better.

If you're a church member (or even if you're not), you can consider contacting your local pastor - churches are often willing to help out those in need but again can only do so if you tell them. You can arrange to speak to them in confidence.