I accepted an offer over the phone, and was caaught off guard. Can I renegotiate?

Discussion in 'Self Improvement and Being Successful' started by Jimmy M., Oct 7, 2009.

1. Jimmy M.

Jimmy M.
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Here's the whole story.

I've been working as a contractor for two years in the A/V business, and make $20 - $45/hr when I get work. Work has been so slow for the past 6 months, I've been trying to get a job desperately. I have 15 years of Management experience, an Associates in Computer and Electronics Engineering, and a Bachelors in Business.

I finally got a good opportunity a month ago as a Broadcast Tech for a large worldwide Satellite company, with over 2.500 employees. I interviewed for the position, and hit it off well with the hiring manager, Bob, who would be my future boss. At the close of the interview we talked salary. He told me the position paid $33,500 + a 20% increase if I was willing to work the night shift. I told him I was very interested, but I'd prefer the night shift if possible for the pay increase. He told me he would "hire me on the spot if he could, and thought I was a great fit for the position, but had to go through a second interview". He even gave me tips for my second interview. We scheduled it for the following day.

The next day I met with his boss, Tom, and the interview went excellent. we discussed salary, and I mentioned that Bob told me $33,500 + 20 % for the night shift. Tom then told me that "That's the bottom end, and someone with your experience and education will start at more than that". I was very excited, because my expectation was $39,000 - $48,000/yr. I didn't show Tom I was excited, but let him know I was very interested in the position.

They had me take an aptitude test and a drug test, and I passed both. I emailed both managers thank you notes, and received positive responses from both.