How to terminate a business parter?

Discussion in 'Growing and Managing a Business' started by Trep117, Mar 3, 2013.

1. Trep117

Trep117
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Hello all,

I am a full time business owner of a start-up that has been operating for 9 months. I have two business partners and have may have made a mistake. ANY advice will be much appreciated

1. One of the partners (lets call him Bob)owns 20% equity and has made a capital investment of 65k. He is also a developer that has built a backend admin panel for inventory management and also a front end system that is not yet complete. We set a goal for the front end to be finished and launched by Jan 1st and that deadline was not meant do to some personal issues he was having. He finally resurfaced and came into the office for a meeting. We found out he was manic depressive and had a breakdown but is getting better. Me being the understanding person that I am, told him that I was glad he was safe and that I feel great about the team being back together again. He then agreed to have everything up and running by March 1st and to this date he hasn't made any progress.

2. The other business partner (lets call him Todd) owns 39% equity. I have given him a few projects that needed to be completed by March 1st and none of it is completed. He is a very negative person and always feels as if he is a victim of the company, not to mention his overwhelming sense of entitlement. He doesn't know how to comunicate or delegate. I have had many talks with him in regards to all of this with verbal understanding from him, but he always falls right back into his old ways. He quit his job to start this business with me and is married with a kid and another on the way and I feel bad for even thinking about terminating him. This business is going in the wrong direction and even though we are already turning profits the moral is really down. Todd also recommended Bob into this company and is good friends with him.