How to structure new startup with multiple small investors

Discussion in 'Starting a Business' started by ProBusiness, Mar 1, 2012.

1. ProBusiness

uix_expand uix_collapse

Mar 1, 2012
    As a quick background I am a Sr Financial Analyst and also teach adjunct at a nearby college (Economics and Statistics). I also have an MBA and a Master of Arts in Applied Economics. I state that info only to let you know I have a strong business background as well and have two small businesses already.

However, I have a new idea related to Education. I put together a Proforma Income Statement (both a 12 month and a 5 year) to determine the viability of my idea using very very conservative numbers. In other words the possibility of losing money is minimal but could shut down in 3 years if not profitable and the total losses would be about $30,000 (worst case scenario). I won't talk "best case" scenarios as the probability of that is not likely (but I can hope:)!!). The most likely result is a profitable business that can quickly be expanded at a fairly low cost into a 2nd, 3rd, and 4th location. These would be in college "towns" so the number of potential locations are numerous around the country (and possibly a "franchise" opportunity down the road? But I digress).