How to impress investors

Discussion in 'Articles & Tutorials' started by Will Passmore, Jan 23, 2013.

1. Will Passmore

Will Passmore
    uix_expand uix_collapse
    Banned

How to impress investors

Investors want to know about your product, your business plan, your goals and the timing of those, but also you and your partners.
    It is important that you and your partners present yourself as professional, but people that have the ability to socialize. As a professional I myself have realized that a lot of the time people are more willing to give you a chance if they like you, regardless of your product. That is not a guarantee that they’ll invest, but if they like you, you have a much better chance of leaving that room of investors a happier person.

Your pitch should be straight forward. You must avoid trying to convince the investors that their investment is logical through your words, and do it through yourself and your product. Do not bore them. There is no need to talk for two minutes about data that they’ll forget. It’s much better to have pamphlets ready; feel free to include graphs, data charts and even side commentary.

Regardless of how many pamphlets you may have, you must talk as well. Starting off with some casual talk is good. If the investors feel like you are genuine person, they’ll listen. If you start off with a bad impression, they’ll be thinking more about their upcoming meal than your pitch.
    After you’ve established your genuineness, recreate your persona into one of a professional. It is very difficult, but you must speak to both the smartest and most dumb person in the room at the same time; make it understandable. Avoid terminology that they might not understand. It is okay to relate advanced concepts to football; it works and it’s easy. (Feel free to pick another sport or anything else that is commonly well known by the majority.)