How to develop a new idea?

Discussion in 'Business Ideas' started by Charley, May 24, 2010.

1. Charley

Charley
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Hi

I'm new here and have joined the forum in the hope of finding a bit of direction.

I have an idea for a business that i wish to explore. I believe that it is an innovative and desirable new idea for the ebook industry that now, with the introduction of the ipad and other new technologies has become viable and potentially very lucrative. The idea combines existing technologies in new ways.

I am a business novice with no software developing skills and due to the fact that i believe that my idea is very 'of the moment' I strongly suspect that the best option would be to sell my idea to a company in the marketplace that has the expertise and resources to make it happen. Companies like Apple's ibookstore and Amazon or perhaps ebook publishers would be most likely to be interested in this idea.

So... where to start!? well, 3 questions immediately spring to mind.....

a)Do companies like these buy ideas?

b) if so, how would i approach a company to propose my idea?

c) How do i ensure that i am protected so that after i share my idea with a business they can not just steal it and develop it themselves?

Any other comments or advice would be greatly appreciated!!

Thanks for reading!
    Charley

2. Fergal

Fergal
    uix_expand uix_collapse
    Premium Member
    Premium Member

Welcome to Business Advice Forum Charley and thanks for asking your business questions. Nothing is impossible so you should continue to pursue your idea, or perhaps change it a little, in order to find a way that it can work.