How to create a very successful and profitable business the blueprint

Discussion in 'Growing and Managing a Business' started by iggypop, Jul 15, 2013.

1. iggypop

iggypop
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Hello everyone well its 2 am and I have insomnia plus this is my favorite forum so I am creating this post to contribute. First off I am a business economist with specialization into Supply Chain Management but don't worry I will not do any profit maximization or Lagrangian methods here anyways part of my job is to look into what makes businesses succeed/fail and finding markers that contribute to the value added puzzle among some things with that said lets begin. Every business out there belongs into 2 groups which are red ocean strategy (~84%) and blue ocean strategy (~16%). Red Ocean is where most businesses are and thats the area you want to avoid because there is a high failure rate and little profits the best way to know if your in a red ocean market is if the example below applies to you
    • sharing the same market demand with other businesses/zero sum game meaning if you enter a market and compete for the same customers as other businesses, if you gain 2 customers then some business loses 2 customers.
    Red Ocean is very cut-throat there is not much room for profits for the average business since market saturation has probably occurred and the bigger businesses probably have economies of scale on they're side think walmart they can offer more stuff and at a lower price. Enough about that lets get to the good part Blue Ocean Strategy is were innovation and profit meets this is characterized by
    • creating your own market demand with no competition
    • thinking outside the box and adding innovation to whatever it is your doing