How to choose software develoment company?

Discussion in 'Growing and Managing a Business' started by Orpheus, Dec 18, 2017.

1. Orpheus

Orpheus
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Is anyone here who hire freelancers or engineers? Is it better to outsource or have an in-house team? The project may take 1 year to complete. Should we outsource to freelancers or to a company?

2. Shrike

Shrike
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Speaking as a project manager, I'd say choosing a development company is a lot safer, reliable and manageable than freelancers. I have worked with both smart independent devs who’ve never let me down and development companies who’ve missed deadlines far too often. However, I have to say my experience with development companies is better than with individual freelancers. The last company we have worked is Vironit, Belarus. These guys are active in mobile, software and game development. The team we’ve worked with are a bunch of achievers and has exceeded our expectations every so often. I’m very pleased with their job and would advise anyone to contact them.

3. Inva

Inva
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Hello, first of all disclaimer: i represent such a company.

I believe your choice should be based on your long term goals (business plan) and your budget.

If you say your project will take 1 year to complete, then i guess it is a serious long term project. In this case you're better off with a company because a company offers security. A company can re-allocate staff if need be to complete your project. If you work with a single developer, it's possible that something might happen and the work be left unfinished or delayed. For example they may get sick, break their hand, disappear, find another, better job!