Hi guys I'm new and I need urgent help!

Discussion in 'Growing and Managing a Business' started by Ryanunderwood, May 29, 2012.

1. Ryanunderwood

Ryanunderwood
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Hi i need some help, I am currently employed by an air conditioning company but want to do work for myself in the evenings and weekends. I have a nursery very interested in me to install air conditioning (approx 12k job about 4k profit).
    What I want to know is how can I legally do this? Would my company have to know or be able to find out? do I have to register as a sole trader? Can I register and still be employed? How would tax work as I currently earn 35k so would anything i make be taxed 40% or would it be lower as this is separate to my employment?
    I am very new to this and will appreciate any help that can be offered.
    Thanks, Ryan

2. firstchoicecar

firstchoicecar
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Do this 2 companies signed you a Contract?

3. Fergal

Fergal
    uix_expand uix_collapse
    Premium Member
    Premium Member

Ryan, what country is your business based in?

Some employers have contracts with their employees, which prohibits them from doing contract work / nixers in their spare time. Did you check to see what your employer's policy is in this regards?

4. StarBC

StarBC
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Hi Ryan!
    If you and/or your potential client are not restricted with contracts you are ok. If you live in the USA generally you don't have to register your sole proprietorship unless you want to do your business under another name. But every state has different laws. Enter the websites of your Secretary of State and County Auditor to get more information about it or tell me the state you live in & I'll tell you.

If you a sole proprietor you should pay quarterly federal & state (sometimes local) estimated taxes. Don't forget Social Security and Medicare portions when making estimates for your federal taxes.