Help with Wordpress Page Templates?

Discussion in 'Wordpress' started by Shahrier, Sep 6, 2011.

1. Shahrier

Shahrier
    uix_expand uix_collapse

I've tried the Wordpress support forum but they can only provide minimal support as they receive thousands of posts every day.

I want to be able to post on different pages but that can only be done on the homepage. I asked the Wordpress support guys and they said to use Page Templates and showed me the FAQ on Page Templates. I read it, but I am not very good at php or anything. I also have limited knowledge on Wordpress. Is there any code that you guys know of to put posts on a separate page? I desperately need this. Thanks.

-Shahrier

2. Erik

Erik
    uix_expand uix_collapse

I'm not exactly sure what you want to achieve....

Did I get you right, that you have one Blog, but it has two main blog-post-pages. Like "Normal News", where all the normal news is listed, and then "Special news", which shows all special news?

This is custom and you need to code it either yourself or ask someone to code it for you. I'm not aware of any existing solution.

1.) Make use of categories. Tag all your articles for the second article with a special category. Category name is up to you.
    2.) Set up your main article view (index.php) to show all categories, except those category reserved for the special news.
    3.) Set up a new link in your navigation, that shows all articles belonging to that special news category.

If you need a programmer, I can do that for you. Send me a PM.

• Like Like x 2
  3. Shahrier

Shahrier
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Actually, I want two main blog post pages but I can not find a way how to because I do not know the php Page Template for it. Unless there is another way.

Also, thanks for replying.

4. Jerlene

Jerlene
    uix_expand uix_collapse