Help! i need help editing my wordpress blog

Discussion in 'Wordpress' started by clannny, Nov 22, 2009.

  1. clannny

    clannny
    uix_expand uix_collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello everyone
    anyone know how to edit a wordpress blog?
    i need help with topthisfact.com
    when you go to that website, look to the right top and you will see 5 icons, like folders, stars, quote & such.

    When i click them it doesn't link to anyone, anyone help out with those? i had category created, & post are created. Those button means category & recent post & such but there no link to them.

    anywhere i can fix these?
     
  2. Fergal

    Fergal
    uix_expand uix_collapse
    Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Messages:
    10,578
    Likes Received:
    1,163
    clannny, those buttons are working fine when I click on them, they change the content in the area immediately below them. Are you sure they don't do that for you? What browser are you using? I'm using Google Chrome.

    [Moving thread to Member Ads & Marketplace forum!]
     
  3. clannny

    clannny
    uix_expand uix_collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Aw ha sorry about that
    I should'of posted for thread solved or something earlier ago.
    It was an older version of this theme so i had this error

    But i do need some help if there is wordpress experts out there

    on my site www.topthisfact.com,, when u click on the button it shows a list of 5 etc.. such as 5 category

    but in http://wordpress.digitalnature.ro/mystique/ when you click on the button it shows a list of 10 etc

    I want mines to be exactly like that with more category like 10, 15, 20
    But i can't find a option to that that, i've searched everywhere under wordpress admin area.
     
  4. realitybites.in

    realitybites.in
    uix_expand uix_collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    368
    Likes Received:
    0
    in wordpress.....if there is category's without post ...they not show up until there a post in that category

    if u want all category's to be showed ...then u need to have at lest one post in every category
     
  5. clannny

    clannny
    uix_expand uix_collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello man
    You Rock a bunch!
    I've added a thanks to your post

    I need another help with wordpress is
    http://validator.w3.org/check?uri=h...0.5;accept-charset=GB2312,utf-8;q=0.7,*;q=0.7

    on the validator wc3 link under my footer of my website
    it shows error & i want everythign to be fixed like http://validator.w3.org/check?uri=h...0.5;accept-charset=GB2312,utf-8;q=0.7,*;q=0.7



    EDIT: problem is that i have no idea what page of that part to edit
    it only shows the part that has the error but it doesnt show the page.
    also my website is working perfectly for me without any problem
     
    #5 clannny, Nov 23, 2009
    Last edited: Nov 23, 2009
  6. realitybites.in

    realitybites.in
    uix_expand uix_collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    368
    Likes Received:
    0
    which all plugging are u using...!
    and did u use plugging to add bidvertiser advertisement code

    or edited ...! the word press
     
  7. clannny

    clannny
    uix_expand uix_collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes i use plugins of wordpress to add to wordpress but i never edit any of the wordpress page
    so that means i have to edit my plugins?

    i use the "post layout" plugin for my ads
     
  8. GekiDan

    GekiDan
    uix_expand uix_collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2,594
    Likes Received:
    218
    These errors might be a result of your plug-in codes. Like affiliate banners and ads displaying on your site. I have also checked my blog on that validator and it saw over 200 errors. To whom mostly are codes from ads and widgets.
     
  9. Sahil

    Sahil
    uix_expand uix_collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,003
    Likes Received:
    45
    Hi,

    I see that those errors are of three thing first many errors are of plugin Add To Any, try disabling that and use any other plugin instead. Second many errors are of Bidvertiser code, try editing it as specified on W3C page. Third there are some errors of Google Analytics Code, try editing that also as specified. Also check others if you're familiar with HTML or PHP code.
     
  10. clannny

    clannny
    uix_expand uix_collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmm...
    I see that these error won't matter
    Im checking big websites like fmylife.com & other popular websites i see like like hundereds of error such as 300 & such.

    Well is there anyway to remove that banenr from my website at the bottom.
    I tried checking footer pages & such, don't seem to find that ad anywhere.

    Wondering if you guys know where else can it be beside the footer page of the theme?
     
  11. Fergal

    Fergal
    uix_expand uix_collapse
    Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Messages:
    10,578
    Likes Received:
    1,163
    clanny, that banner is a Bidvertiser ad, copy of the code below. Did you insert that ad yourself or did it come with the theme? If it came with the theme, do you have the right to remove it, and continue to use the theme?

     
  12. clannny

    clannny
    uix_expand uix_collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh not this banner
    sorry my mistaken
    i meant to say "XHTML 1.1 Top" that button
    wondering what page do i go to remove that button

    Yes i added that ad myself btw
     
  13. GekiDan

    GekiDan
    uix_expand uix_collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2,594
    Likes Received:
    218
    It's in this code:
    Remove:
    So that that XHTML 1.1 and TOP will be gone.
     
  14. clannny

    clannny
    uix_expand uix_collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    But it doesnt show the page i should be editing in
    I checked index.php , its not there & i also check footer.php
     
  15. GekiDan

    GekiDan
    uix_expand uix_collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2,594
    Likes Received:
    218
    It is above the Bidvertiser codes and below the page controls.
     
  16. clannny

    clannny
    uix_expand uix_collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
  17. alirex

    alirex
    uix_expand uix_collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes style.css and find

    a:link
    a:visited
    a:hover
    a:active

    Change colors accordingly.
     
  18. carolinebien

    carolinebien
    uix_expand uix_collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Learn so much from this thread.
     

Share This Page