Getting Paid for services

Discussion in 'Growing and Managing a Business' started by lmgaiter, Sep 29, 2010.

1. lmgaiter

lmgaiter
    uix_expand uix_collapse

I'm a roofer with little work these days. A friend of a friend suggested if I would reroof his house, which is presently up for sale, he would pay me 1 1/2times my normal rate for the job when the house sold or six months from now whichever happens first. He's willing to put this in writing.

My problem is he live about fifty miles away, how will I know if he sells his house. I thought of having him give me a check for the amount owed without a date, once the house is sold I would fill in the date and submit the check to my bank.

Is this a legal option? Does anyone have any ideas or suggestions?

2. daytrader

daytrader
    uix_expand uix_collapse

lolz..
    but there is a hardcopy of papers so i guess its legal :D and i hope he really pays :D

3. Kay

Kay
    uix_expand uix_collapse

The thing is, once he sells the house any repair costs would be even harder to get out of him.

The guy could approach his bank for a home improvement loan or overdraft and make an arrangement with them.

You're going to be out the cost of materials and labor on this and not see a penny for six months minimum. You may never get it. One and a half times nothing is still nothing.

I'd not risk it. If he was to sell his house and vanish overnight, anything you had in writing would be worthless if you don't know where he is. And if your friend objects, suggest to him that he pays it and then he can collect it from his friend if he's so sure he would. Tell him it's nothing personal. It's a business decision. You wouldn't give anyone else six months to pay for work, would you?