Getting Closer -- Is this a workable deal for me?

Discussion in 'Growing and Managing a Business' started by kilkenny, Mar 2, 2012.

1. kilkenny

kilkenny
    uix_expand uix_collapse

The current sole owner is very good at the 'job' part of the business, but has no idea how to 'run' a business. I have an accounting degree and have run businesses for 20 years. I have never owned a business though.

This business started out 2 years ago with Assets equaling Liabilities. There is a business loan for the company of $300k.

Over the last 2 years, the current owner lost $100k. $60k from business and he drew a salary of $40k.

Current State:
    Liabilities $300k
    Assets $200k
    Annual Gross Margin $85k ($500k-$415k)
    Annual Cash Flow <$30k>

I have analyzed all transactions over the last 2 years and there are a lot of things that can change here. If I became 50% partners with the current owner, he would agree to reducing fixed expenses by $30k per year (breakeven!). The proposed cuts by me would not affect the revenue side of the business. We also have plans for increasing business using a combination of our strengths.

We would agree to not draw any salary until the business had the ability to do so.

Here is the deal:
    50% partnership at no buy in cost.

You also need to know that this is my brother and I don't want to see him fail. I am also looking for an opportunity, so it seems we are looking for each other. Does it seem fair to gain a 50% interest in a going business without paying anything and instead taking on half the debt? Is the deal not good enough for me? What other ways can I do this?