First time business - should I be worried, or am I just being paranoid?

Discussion in 'Growing and Managing a Business' started by GoudaGood, May 27, 2011.

1. GoudaGood

GoudaGood
    uix_expand uix_collapse

This is my first time starting a business, and I am very nervous. For one, my partner wants to start a corporation so we can get funding easier. Sounds sensible to me, and while I'm a little more nervous about starting a corp (because I don't know much about a corporation) I think it makes more sense from a $$$ standpoint.

However, one thing that I'm really nervous about is this: my partner says that he will be paying my salary (which is very low for my industry, I have no college degree so I'm just glad I'm getting paid), BUT I won't get any of my "dividends" (I believe that's how corp shareholders are paid profits right?) until I "pay off" the money he put in for my salary.

While this sounded very reasonable to me at first (he offered me this deal after I did a project for him without any shares, and now I'm getting 50% of the shares + the same pay as before), after giving it more thought I'm getting a little nervous.

Is this standard business practice? Should I be expecting more?? Normally, how do these things work?

I just don't want to owe him any money down the road, and I'm getting a little nervous about this all. I'm just confused I guess...

What are your guys' thoughts? I'm going to talk more to my partner about this next week.

2. Fergal

Fergal
    uix_expand uix_collapse
    Premium Member
    Premium Member

Welcome to Business Advice Forum GoudaGood and thanks for posting your business questions. If you could please provide a little more info along the lines of the following questions, our members will be able to give you more helpful replies;

Will your partner be working in the business on a day to day basis? If so, will he be working a similar number of hours as you and will he also be getting paid a salary?