Financial analysis of acquisiitons?

Discussion in 'Growing and Managing a Business' started by WillardWright, Apr 3, 2012.

1. WillardWright

WillardWright
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Hello everyone. I'm a college student working on a business report, however I'm having some difficulty with the financial analysis section. My report is on Kellogg Co. and its acquisition of Pringles. I'm supposed to create a table with figures from the past 3 years to explain Kellogg Co.'s strategic action (acquiring Pringles).

In any case, I'm having trouble deciding what figures would be relevant to Kellogg's strategic action, and I would like help in understanding what I should use and why it explains its action. I will post what I have used and attempted so far. Thanks in advance!
    --------------------------------------------------------
    • Total Assets
    • Total Debt
    • Total Shareholders' Equity
    • Net Sales (US Snacks)
    • Net Sales (US Morning Foods & Kashi)
    • Contribution to Net Sales (US Snack and morning food)
    • Operating income/profit (US snacks)
    • Long-term Debt
    • Free Cash Flow
    • D/E Ratio
    • D/A Ratio
    • Fixed Assets turnover
    • Return on assets
    • Operating profit margin (US Snacks)
    Kellogg Co.’s decision to acquire Pringles from P&G for $2 billion USD can be understood by examining the financial data provided in the table above. Net sales from its US Snack business have increased by $150 million USD since 2009, and its contribution to net sales has closed in to Kellogg’s largest business (Morning foods/Kashi) by 1.08% since 2009 (a current difference of 5.51%). This shows that Kellogg’s US Snack business is growing in profitability and importance to the company, leading to the need to consider acquisition to increase its market power.