Does Quickbooks do the following...

Discussion in 'Apps & Software' started by flyingSquirrel, Jan 14, 2015.

1. flyingSquirrel

flyingSquirrel
    uix_expand uix_collapse

I'm totally new to business, and am researching everything now so I can know what I am getting into and what my responsibilities would be (so far it's very overwhelming). Anyway, I am dazed and confused after several hours of researching state taxes (WA state). There is a WA state "Business Tax Basics" PDF file...which is SIXTY PAGES! BASIC, hah!

Question is: Does Quickbooks "handle" *ALL* state taxes? There are A LOT of very complicated state taxes for WA and I don't understand how the heck anyone could legitimately track and compute everything correctly, unless there is some magical software that would do it for you. Taxes including but not limited to: Business and occupation tax, retail sales tax, Use taxes (also, the [absurd] personal property tax, which I doubt can be done in QB since the state has to assess and compute everything for you). The retail sales tax and use taxes are particularly confusing since they vary according to the states that things are sold or purchased in.

Anyway, this is all very confusing, and I am beginning to doubt my ability to handle everything. Very discouraging, given how fired up I have been about starting a business. Thanks for any assistance

2. astockwell

astockwell
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Hi flyingSquirrel,

QuickBooks is really good about automating sales tax (once you've set it up) and to a lesser extent use tax, but not necessarily great at handling business occupation tax or personal property tax. The reason for this is that the B&O tax and especially personal property tax are a bit trickier to track. Bear with me as I get a bit technical.

Fore sales/use tax, you can set up what quickbooks refers to as "sales tax items" and "sales tax codes."