Do I need a business licence?

Discussion in 'Growing and Managing a Business' started by gemma85, Apr 6, 2011.

1. gemma85

gemma85
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Hey Everyone,

Im new to this so hope i'm doing it right ;)

I have been trawling the net over the last few weeks in order to try and find out if I need a business licence, however I do not find the county council sites all that helpful.

Basically I am a trained Body Piercer and am looking to open up a shop in Meath Ireland. However due to funds this may be a few months down the line. Therefore someone suggested that I do Mobile Body Piercing and travel to peoples houses.

The piercing industry is not regulated, but i'm almost certain you would need a licence, i'm just not sure where to start?

Any advice anyone can offer would be grately appreciated.

Thanks.

2. smith360

smith360
    uix_expand uix_collapse
    Banned

If you are participating in any type of business that involves interaction with the public, where the product or service can potentially harm or put the public in danger, you have to have a license...

3. firstchoicecar

firstchoicecar
    uix_expand uix_collapse

All I know that you must have a business license in any business that you have,this is a requirement.

4. Fergal

Fergal
    uix_expand uix_collapse
    Premium Member
    Premium Member

Welcome to our Business Forum gemma85, I'm in Louth myself, good to meet you here.

According to the HSE there "are no registration requirements, no minimum structural or operational standards to be attained before opening such a business". The Citizens Information Board says something very similar "There is no legislation regulating body piercing and tattooing."