Dilemma: to sell or not to sell

Discussion in 'Growing and Managing a Business' started by irmscher, Feb 15, 2013.

1. irmscher

irmscher
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Hey guys and gals

I'm a programmer and web developer, I've created quite a valuable script which is actually a push button solution for a very common problem. Initially I didn't want to sell the script because but then I thought of $1,000 :) - the amount I would've paid myself is someone had offered me something like that (just imagining myself in a potential customer's shoes thus what amount I'd be willing to pay for the script)

$1000 for a piece of code sounds like a lot of money but it actually may be even worth more. And it also sounds like you can make a lot of money with the product that can be sold for one grand, but there's one important thing that keeps me back from starting selling the script.

Taking into account all the security precautions and script encoding to prevent crackers to null/crack your script there's still quite a significant chance of this to happen, and then it's a software seller's nightmare - your script is being distributed all over the web for free - months or even years of work goes down the drain.

I the pragmatist in me tells:
    just keep running the services using your script and may be it will take a bit more work and hassle but you'll earn quite good buck anyways.
    And the itch for gain in me tells: sell the script, $1000 is a lot of money and you need to sell only 1000 of them to become millionaire, on top of that there's A LOT less hassle involved in compare with providing the services, just sell and forget. Plus you can still run the service and make 2x as much as if you would've in case of not selling the script

So the bottom line is: is that risk of being cracked worth it? If the software gets cracked then it's a disaster... But running services takes quite a bit of time investment.

2. Rocky

Rocky
    uix_expand uix_collapse