Creating Content and Building Backlinks... Loaded question!

Discussion in 'Content Marketing' started by cjarrodsnow, Aug 16, 2012.

1. cjarrodsnow

cjarrodsnow
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Hi All,

Okay, I've been working on building up personal websites for about a year now, so I am still fairly new to this... Actually, I spent the first 6 months just trying to figure out how to do coding and create a website, so really I've only been focused on developing site content for 6 months.

I have a loaded question... actually 2... or 3.

I have a site with about 100 pages of what I feel are quality content pages...it's PR2 and has about 40 backlinks.

Is there a point where my focus should be redirected to building backlinks over creating content, or should backlinks be built simultaneously with the content?

In addition to this, what do others do in regards to building backlinks? Do you have a set number you aim for per a day/week? And, when you build them, do you stick with the same handful of sites that you feel work for you, or do you establish a link with a site and then move on to another?

And I guess I should add, do you focus on a particular page to create backlinks, or do you focus on deep linking to pages within your site?

I'm all ears and would greatly appreciate some insight!

2. DeniseTaylor

DeniseTaylor
    uix_expand uix_collapse

This is how I do it. Once you get to a certain point, do both. You can slow down, but don't drop writing content.

I try to get at least a few links for each of the main pages.

As far as what techniques? I vary the technique and never, ever overuse/abuse anything. You run the risk of penalty.

I try to follow a set schedule, but pretty much, I succeed at working in cycles. Not always on teh same day of the week, etc., but I circle around through everything.

Hope that helps!

• Like Like x 2
  3. Thanoz

Thanoz
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Actually you can slow down backlink building but NOT content creating.