Creating a strong professional looking personal email address?

Discussion in 'Computer Questions, Issues & Security' started by Epictetus55, Jul 27, 2014.

1. Epictetus55

Epictetus55
    uix_expand uix_collapse

I'm trying to improve the professionalism of my email address. I'm still an undergrad student, and thus I don't have a profession or industry yet, so I need something that is simply personally relevant. However, my main email is still a gmail account I created in junior high, so it seems that I should upgrade now as I am starting to make contacts that will be relevant in a business setting. I'm at a liberal arts school currently, but I am planning to enter sports business/accounting when I graduate. For now I am a distance learning support high school teacher.

I own a few domain names, so I thought I could use one of those. I have my firstnamelastname.org, .ca, .us, .me, and .name. The .com and .net are owned by other people, and my last name is fairly common, so there is no chance of me getting any of those tld's. So I have three parts to the question of what I should do:

1. Is an address of something @ firstnamelastname.anything a good, non-affiliated email address? And if so, does it make any difference what tld I use? .org seems a little strange to me for a personal address, I don't know if .me or .name will make me look silly, and .ca and .us are country tld's. The difficulty with the country ones is that I live in Canada, but go to school and potentially will work in the US. Is there a better alternative tld than what I already own? (excluding .com and .net, obviously)

2. Given I use one of these domain names, what is a good name before the @? The first logical choice seems to be firstname @ firstnamelastname.anything, but that seems a little redundant. Is that a good thing for personal branding/easy remembering? Or is there something else like mail@ or contact@ that is better?