Creating a Performance Appraisal/Management System from Scratch

Discussion in 'Growing and Managing a Business' started by alethalskirt, Aug 7, 2014.

1. alethalskirt

alethalskirt
    uix_expand uix_collapse

I'm not exactly sure how to phrase this, but I need some help. I'm a recent graduate with a degree in Business Administration. Started looking for a job, any job, and got hired at a local car dealership. I've been hired to be a backup accountant and to "run" HR-- prior to me, they didn't even have an HR department. Now I am the HR department, along with my boss. Who, in her own words, knows nothing about HR. In the interview, she asked me if I had any experience with HR. I was honest and upfront: "I don't have any experience, but I did really enjoy my HR classes." Shortly after being hired, I approached her and asked what they had for performance appraisal/management systems. She didn't even know what that was. So I did my best to explain it, and she decided it sounded like a great idea-- and put me in charge of creating one from scratch for our dealership. But not just for our dealership; the family that owns this dealership also owns another one just down the road and an express shop. Any system I create must be implemented at all three places. And I have no idea what I'm doing. I've got a couple books that I'm pouring through, and obviously my college classes did give me some information, but I certainly didn't expect to be doing this at my first job. I contacted one of my teachers who's also the head of the Business Administration department, and he recommended joining SHRM. I sent my local chapter an email about a membership last week and still haven't received a response. I feel like I'm in way over my head, but I want to try and do something. I already like most of the people I'm working with, and I care about this company-- I've bought cars here even before I started working here, and this company is kind of a big deal in my town. I want to do somethi