Coworker Office Politics Question

Discussion in 'Employer Issues' started by replogle, Dec 26, 2015.

1. replogle

replogle
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Hi everyone. I work in the advertising industry, and I was a new hire who replaced an employee who departed.

When I took over said employees work, I found that it was in total disarray. Google analytics reports were filled with inaccurate data, cross-domain tracking wasn't set up between multiple sites when they should have been, deadlines were past due on a massive scale, and much more. The biggest screw up is that he had purchased one service that was creating a mess, and another one that was cleaning it up at the same time.

I cleaned up a lot of the problems that he created, and I was commended for being a great employee.

Here's where the problem starts, he was rehired as a part time employee, and was basically assigned to me as a team mate.

On his third day he did an audit of my work and said, "I want to see if what you're actually doing is working." He went on to start harassing me over the company chat about an hour later, grilling me over my competence in my field. I ended up getting an apology from management over his behavior and was begged to give it time to work out.

Since then he has stolen ideas of mine and presented them as his own on two separate occasions, thrown me under the bus in meetings when he said he'd do the opposite, changed my work behind my back and screwed it up. I discussed that last grievence with management and they said that was inappropriate, but he was never reprimanded and continued to do it.

This situation is becoming more toxic as time goes on, and he's a friend of the owner. My feeling is that the business that he owns is in hot water, and he's back here as an act of sympathy.