Correct Life Path

Discussion in 'Self Improvement and Being Successful' started by OU_Engineer, Dec 2, 2011.

1. OU_Engineer

OU_Engineer
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Hello everyone,

I am new here and have a question. I graduated from the University of Oklahoma with my BS in Mechanical Engineering in May of this year. I graduated with a 3.75 GPA and had three years of interning experience. Upon graduation, I took a job offer and am currently employed as an engineer. However, I don't really enjoy what I do. I have always wanted to do finance or marketing, but was told to get an engineering degree, due my aptitude in math and physics and the poor job market right now. My current employer has a program with Oklahoma City University's Business college that would allow me to get a part-time MBA in Finance with the cost covered 100%. If I were to do this, would that just improve my resume for the engineering field, or would that allow me to change career paths into something like asset management or corporate finance? When I say change career paths, I would like to state that I would be looking for a job with a similar salary ~$70,000. Thank you in advance for your help.

#1 OU_Engineer, Dec 2, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2011
  2. TisdaleJohn

TisdaleJohn
    uix_expand uix_collapse

I think you should do in which field you feel relax and comfortable like if you think that marketing is the line where you will be comfortable and enjoy your duties and grow as well as you think.

3. NewRealms

NewRealms
    uix_expand uix_collapse

OU Engineer,

What gets you excited? What sets your day on fire? The only correct path is the one you can find complete satisfaction from. It may be that you must sacrifice now to get what you want later on. But, with a plan in place you can be assured of that success.