Copy an already established business?

Discussion in 'Growing and Managing a Business' started by N719721986, Mar 17, 2015.

1. N719721986

N719721986
    uix_expand uix_collapse

I work as a caregiver for senior citizens. I want to start my own business as a caregiver & errand runner. There are already a ton of businesses like this. There are home health aides, CNA's & companions. How do I start a business like this? I basically just need to copy the others.

I have the name, a business license & a list of services I will offer. I know I will need to advertise & start doing jobs for people & slowly grow. But I have no clue what to do from there. How do you build it up to a professional franchise like all the others? I don't want to look like a dumb kid with a small lawn mowing business, I want to build a large professional company. But right now I'm just a dumb kid with a lawn mower & a pickup truck.

So I get some customers, start making money & then what? How do you get to a full blown professional company & franchise? I'm not creating something totally new, I just need to know how to copy all these other similar businesses.

How do all these similar companies get going? How do they set up their company the same as all the others? They're pretty much all the same just with different names. How do they copy each other? Same with all the retail stores. They're all the same except for the name. Where can I learn this?

2. MattPel

MattPel
    uix_expand uix_collapse

I'm no expert in senior citizen care but I'm pretty sure that reputation building will play a big role in your success.

Here is what I would recommend:
    - Try finding an area where you have a lot of potential client but there is missing caregivers. (Less competition = more opportunity)
    - Try finding a value-added service that makes you unique. Then find a niche that appreciates that service.