computer games business

Discussion in 'Growing and Managing a Business' started by earthfox12, Aug 23, 2011.

1. earthfox12

earthfox12
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Hi there, I am just new with business. I just want to lay my idea of opening a shop at the mall for a computer gaming. Mostly asian young people love going to malls of which is my target area. Can you advice me an exact location where to place my shop? The mall administrator wants to put me on the rear end of 3rd floor which I don't like. But it's the cheaper area, and I think still need a lot of promotion since I am at the end point. There is this middle area which frequented by passers by but got a high rent price? which one will I chose? Thanks in advaNCE.

2. Fergal

Fergal
    uix_expand uix_collapse
    Premium Member
    Premium Member

I previously worked in a retail outlet that was on the second floor of a new shopping centre. The outlet did very poorly because it got very little passing trade, very few of the shopping centre's visitors went up that high. Saying that your target customers are younger than the ones in my example, do you feel that your customers would make the effort to visit your business on the third floor? Will you be able to promote your business to them so that your target market knows about you, without needing to pass by your door? Are there other outlets on that floor that are targeting a similar market to you? It would be worth your while spending some time up on that third floor, to observe and get an opinion as to what the passing trade would be like.

It's often worth paying more so that you get more passing trade. However, the question you need to ask yourself is can your business afford to pay the extra rent required? It would help for you to do some basic financial projections to work out how much business you would need in order to make a profit, after you have paid the rent. Is that something you are comfortable doing?

3. GekiDan

GekiDan