Complete noob...where do I REALLY begin?

Discussion in 'Starting a Business' started by flyingSquirrel, Jun 10, 2012.

1. flyingSquirrel

flyingSquirrel
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Hey guys, I'm new here- I posted in the intro forum earlier. Anyway, I've recently (a month ago) decided to start my own business and am struggling with prioritizing the order of things. I've done a lot of research online, brainstormed, have a TON of documents and ideas written up, links, resources, literally just sooooo much information that I'm struggling with it all. I think in general a business plan is the first step, but even then I don't know where to start. Also, the market / what I want to base my business on is not a typical or common business- essentially the idea is that I want to build custom vivariums (enclosures which house plants and animals). Since building custom vivariums will likely not yield a lot of profit, at least while I am starting out small, I would be selling products and implementing some other ideas to have additional income. To summarize, I have a lot of general information and have done a lot of reading, and I think I get the basics of where to begin....but somehow it's not helping. :confused: So, is a business plan the very first step? Am I missing something? And if I am going to write a business plan, what is truly the very first thing I need to do? Literally, the first thing...do I set up a document on my computer with a standardized business outline, then just begin filling in the sections from the beginning? What is the most important beginning section for a business plan? Perhaps I'm just overwhelmed with information and could use some experienced outsiders to hold me still and point me in the right direction.

Thank you so much for any advice you can offer! :)

2. sayitproud

sayitproud
    uix_expand uix_collapse

flyingSquirrel,