College Degree to nowhere

Discussion in 'Self Improvement and Being Successful' started by RestOwner, Feb 2, 2011.

1. RestOwner

RestOwner
    uix_expand uix_collapse

I have noticed that people who get a College Degree sometimes doesn't end up with a job that is associated with their degree. I have a Bachelors Degree in Electronics Engineering but as you can see I ended up working in a restaurant.

Although I am earning just right where I can pay all expenses and enough to save but don't you think that I should exert much effort in finding associated job for my Degree? Did you end up with the same experience as I do??

2. Fergal

Fergal
    uix_expand uix_collapse
    Premium Member
    Premium Member

Not necessarily, it really depends on what makes you happy and what you would prefer to be doing. If you enjoy working in a restaurant, that's great, keep doing it and enjoying it. If you'd prefer to be doing something else, e.g. working in Electronics, put a plan in place to achieve the type of position you want. However, you shouldn't feel any obligation to work in a certain field, just because you have a college degree in the subject area.

Is getting a job in electronics, something you want to do?

I did my degree in marketing and have spent most of my working life so far in positions related to business, sales and marketing. Sometimes I feel I should have done something more technical, such as computer science or electronics.

3. GekiDan

GekiDan
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Have you tried applying on an electronics company? Even once?

But that will mean that BAF will not be here if that happened. :(

4. RestOwner

RestOwner
    uix_expand uix_collapse

I have tried applying for jobs that is associated with my course but all requires a minimum working experience.. how can somebody get a job with this kind of requirement ..

5. Gary Barzel

Gary Barzel
    uix_expand uix_collapse