Client is Spamming Me

Discussion in 'Growing and Managing a Business' started by markgo, Jul 2, 2012.

1. markgo

markgo
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Hi All,

I am new to BAF and this is my first question.

I have a new client that contracted with my business last week to receive services. It is a decent-sized contract and if all goes well we will be working together for a year or so.

Today, I got some political spam (in favor of a Presidential candidate which I happen to not support) from my the owner of the small company that hired me. I don't want to get off on the wrong foot with this person, and much of our (apolitical) communications work is done by phone and email, so we are in a starting point (and perhaps fragile stage) of our business relationship.

Any advice about how to respond to this (group) spam that I got? I've only gotten one message so far, and I don't think I've ever had a client send stuff like this to me out of the blue, so I am weighing how to respond. I could ignore it, but then my staff or I will likely continue to get this sort of email from him. Could just delete it, but this will likely continue, and get annoying fast. My first inclination is to write a short email back asking him to please exclude me from non-business emails, as I get so much business email as it is -- but does anyone have any other thoughts or stories about this type of situation?

This is an interesting situation to me, and I wonder if others have had this happen and if there is a proper netiquette (to guide my response, not his inappropriate email). Not the sort of thing that will keep me up all night, but I would appreciate the input before I fire off a response.

Thanks!!!

markgo

2. Joseph.Shivell

Joseph.Shivell
    uix_expand uix_collapse
    Community Leader
    Community Leader