Can someone advise me in the right direction

Discussion in 'Growing and Managing a Business' started by mark2013, Oct 13, 2013.

1. mark2013

mark2013
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Hello, my name's Mark.

I am a history student at university and my main area is Oral History. I want to start something online to do with this subject but I don't know how to go about it. Would it be better to start a blog, social media site, I'm not sure?

I want it to be a place where I and other's in my field can post and read things on oral history, and people from all over the world can have access to it. It is a way for people in my field to make contact and get educated but also to findout where events and coarses are taking place. Eventually I would like away to earn an income from it somehow.

Could someone stear me in the right direction?

Thanks, Mark

2. TimeRider

TimeRider
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Hello Mark. Welcome to Business Advice Forum.

I would suggest you to open a blog and post the historical events that had happened. You can post History of an individual which is interesting and something which most of the people don't know about. It can make the visitors revisit for more of your interesting contents. Also, you can promote your blog in Social media site which will be beneficial to get traffic and is useful for SEO. After that you can generate revenue from your blog with Ads.

• Like Like x 1
  3. AnushaJain

AnushaJain
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Hi Mark ..
    Your subject 'Oral History' is very good . I think you may first start your blog with proper SEO so that the traffic starts crawling towards your web page. Apart from this, you may start making some videos about history and upload on Youtube, make some good original videos that might attract the visitors with an original and attractive thumbnail. This is how you may promote your work..

4. Fergal

Fergal
    uix_expand uix_collapse
    Premium Member
    Premium Member