Buying a Business

Discussion in 'Growing and Managing a Business' started by Jerlene, Feb 19, 2012.

1. Jerlene

Jerlene
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Have you ever bought an existing or established business, online or otherwise? Have you ever ran into any legal problems because of it? What was the experience like?

2. sigma

sigma
    uix_expand uix_collapse

No, i dont like to buy business from others because i dont have a big management team to mange the business. I found it is hard to make charge on the management system of the established company, i prefer to set up a new company

3. Jerlene

Jerlene
    uix_expand uix_collapse

I'm skeptical when buying established and existing businesses because I never know what kind of reputation they have.

4. Business Attorney

Business Attorney
    uix_expand uix_collapse
    Premium Member
    Premium Member

I haven't bought a business myself but I am a business lawyer and have represented scores of buyers and sellers of businesses. There are many good reasons to buy an existing business, and of course many reasons why starting a business in some cases is better.

Buying an existing business often gives you a big head start. It gives you an existing infrastructure, customer base, product or service and brand, among other things. It allows you to concentrate on improving what already exists.

On the flip side, any existing business also probably has done some things differently than you would have. You either need to change those differences or live with them. That is part of the decision process when you think about buying a business.

5. amit

amit
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Hello,

I don't like buying other business because of existing business is big head pain. Different types of problem like that customer quires,product or services not good etc.......

6. ArcSine

ArcSine
    uix_expand uix_collapse