Business Proposition Advice

Discussion in 'Self Improvement and Being Successful' started by tamiclay, Mar 2, 2010.

1. tamiclay

tamiclay
    uix_expand uix_collapse

I recently started working for a startup accessory company. I have been working as a sales rep for the past two months and have closed a few accounts. I currently am the top rep besides the owner. The owner is feeling overwhelmed and believes that I would be more valuable to her in an in-house position, helping with admin work, doing the books, and coordinating events and selling the product retail at those events, among other things. I have worked as a small business consultant before for many years so I am very qualified for the position as well as well aware of the amount of work it will take. She cannot afford to pay a salary, but would require at least a 30 hr/week plus commitment from me - virtually around the clock, considering the numerous calls we already have just as a salesperson.
    In lieu of salary/hourly wage she has proposed a 50% commission on my sales. While on the surface this seems equitable, my concern is that my job responsibilities would be heavy in back office work, but my compensation would be contingent on the much less frequent selling opportunities like trade shows, conventions, gno's etc. I would no longer be out in the field selling wholesale accounts. There is no guarantee that the items will sell well or not. Based on the data I already have I would not be able to make my typical rate I would charge for the business services which is around $25-30/hr. The average sales thus far for the small events we have done are 1 -5 items, avg. sale $45. We expect to do much better at the larger events but again we have not done one yet, and even still they are seldom - maybe 1 a month. As a rep now I get 30% on retail, 15% on wholesale.