Business Plan Help

Discussion in 'Starting a Business' started by CNEW, Mar 9, 2013.

1. CNEW

CNEW
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Hello,

I am looking to start a craigslist/backpage ad type site. Need help with the business plan.

Market research etc etc.

This is my first time writing a business plan.

What is the best way to go about it ?

What are some of the best ways to get the info i need ?

What sites can give me info on my competition.

How do i find out about the size of the market and how much income the market generates.

That info and any other info you may think i will need is helpful.

Thanks and hope to hear from you soon.

• Like Like x 1
  2. PS9

PS9
    uix_expand uix_collapse

If you're looking to start a site like Craigslist, Angieslist, etc. I honestly think you're wasting your time if you write a business plan for something like that. Just get the website online and start advertising it. You'll have the website online before you finish writing a business plan for it.

Business plans are great if you get something out of it, such as an investor that wanted data before investing. A website like Craigslist can be made in hours (or minutes if you download one of the many clone scripts) and it's not going to cost that much to start. Coming up with an estimated budget, how much you think you'll make, etc. is not a question that needs to be answered because it won't improve your business. The only exception might be if you're just curious. If that's the case then Craigslist was started in 1995 and currently has 30 employees. The founder, Craig Newmark, is worth about $400 million according to Wikipedia.