Business partner who is not working but I have financial control - what to do?

Discussion in 'Growing and Managing a Business' started by some1confused, Jun 23, 2014.

1. some1confused

some1confused
    uix_expand uix_collapse

I have a business partner whom I've been working with for several years, however in the past 2 years or so he hasn't done much work as I do ... everytime I told him that he became defensive and claimed he does work and he does do things that I cannot do.

I have to rely on him on the one hand but on the other hand it might take him sometimes 5 days to respond to my emails and if I call him he is not in the mood to talk for more than 1-2 minutes most of the times, unless if there is an important thing to discuss.

I quite fed up with this situation ... he is also working now for other places, whilst I'm studying and only working on our joint business ... although we both don't need to put lots of work now as our revenue slumped and I might have to look for another job and become and an employee and stop being self-employed ... I'm also struggling to study to complete my BSc degree, I am in the final stages but having a huge lack of motivation which I cannot explain ... I can spend time watching the World Cup goals or doing other things, but not studying... which is bad but I also don't trust the Uni I study with would help me to gain a (British) 2.1 degree, as it's quite difficult with all that tutor scrutiny that is there...

So anyway back to the point ... I have control over the finances and my wife has told me to split the revenues 70% - 30% or so because my business partner doesn't deserve to get 50% like old times as he works much less than me.

What should I do?
    I tried to tell him we would do that, he disagreed, my wife suggested me to simply tell him there are less profits and revenues, this way he would get an "artificial" 30% which I would lie and explain to him it's his 50% or something like that.

What would you do?