Business opportunity advice

Discussion in 'Growing and Managing a Business' started by RD8500, Dec 22, 2010.

1. RD8500

RD8500
    uix_expand uix_collapse

I have an opportunity to go into a partnership, to buy rental properties
    My partner would fund the down payment (20%) and would arrange the financing. My responsibility would be all hands on, manage & maintenance etc. (Contractor\Carpenter by trade). It would be a 50% partnership split, after my partner is repaid the 20% down payment (from Cash flow \ Profits). What am I missing? Feels like a great opportunity to acquire property. Is the a good deal? Is the partnership structure right?

2. ArcSine

ArcSine
    uix_expand uix_collapse

What you've described is certainly the classic "cash partner, know-how partner" arrangement.

It sounds like you're contemplating a structure whereby postive cash flow (i.e., rental revenues, less all expenses incurred) comes out in three tiers...
    First (hopefully) servicing the debt (prin and int payments);
    Second, to partner as refund of down payment; and
    Third, 50 / 50 split between the two of you.

Once the down payment has been repaid, the Second tier portion of the cash flow allocation goes away.

If I've interpreted the foregoing correctly, there are some considerations you'll want to give a little thought-time to, and incorporate in the partnership agreement...
    • Are you going to be co-signed on the note, or is the financing solely in Partner's name?
    • How is negative cash flow to be handled? If one property (e.g.) is temporarily running red ink, who funds that shortfall?
    • Who makes the decisions as to what expenses are necessary w.r.t. a property, and which could be skipped?
    • Who decides when it would be favorable to sell a property, vs. continuing to hold it in the portfolio...and on what basis is that decision to be made?