Business growth advice

Discussion in 'Growing and Managing a Business' started by jssndjy, Jun 21, 2012.

1. jssndjy

jssndjy
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Hello,

I am looking for advice on growing my business. We are a small service business with potential growth opportunities. I do not have good social or interpersonal skills. Some clients I have can bring in more business if I could sell them our company but I am not good with that. I also have ideas on how to expand but I do not know how to make them a reality. We have been in business for 2 years and have revenues over $300,000 and growing with profits of $100,000+. Which is great as I was always was use to making under $40K. but I think we can do much better. Plus I cut a lot of corners trying to make as much as I can. My question is what type of employee can I get to help me grow. Should I get a sales person, Manager, CEO or ? I am very hands on and I am also looking to slow down my role and have other personnel run the business while I oversee them. This does not need to happen right a way but in the future I would like to step back and do less but still have full control. Any advice is greatly appreciated.

2. Productdesign

Productdesign
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Hi Jssndjy,
    That entirely depends on what is your line of business and what is your organizational structure as of now. Where exactly do you lack?
    Do a SWOT Analysis and then decide the weak points. After that you will be able to judge what kind of professional do you need.

• Like Like x 1
  3. Fergal

Fergal
    uix_expand uix_collapse
    Premium Member
    Premium Member

Well done Jssndjy on bringing your business so far. Those figures are great and they are something that you can be very proud of.

With regards to hiring a sales person, I'd suggest you consider the following;

• Would it free you up to spend more time on the activities that you are good at and that only you can do for the company?