Building a search engine?

Discussion in 'Website Development & Design' started by Hal, Jun 2, 2011.

1. Hal

Hal
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Hi all,

This is my first post. Thanks for supplying this service.

I would like to begin to construct a website that performs the function of searching, but with limitations. For instance one would be given a choice to search for a used car at both autotrader.com and cars.com through my site.
    I have no programming experience and would be willing to pay for the construction. But I am not sure how to go about it. Would a freelancer be capable of something this complex? Or would I need to hire a more sophisticated "team". Also. do I create the simple form of the site first (also through a freelancer?) and then continue to add elements such as this along the way. And if so, does a website grow in complexity by a number of different programmers leaving their mark? And lastly, if I do manage to continue down the path of construction, where is the code stored and how do I know/trust what is being changed along the way?
    I am sorry for sounding so uninformed. I am sixty-one and have a lot of catching up to do.
    Thanks.

2. Grumpy

Grumpy
    uix_expand uix_collapse
    Banned

Hi Hal and welcome to Business Advice Forum. You might consider taking the time to properly Introduce Yourself to us. :)

Anyhow, from what I've read of your plan it's most definitely possible to do that. You would need permission from websites involved to use their search system on your own site but that's not going to be hard to get since you will be promoting their site.

What you're asking for is possible. The best way to do it would probably be by using PHP code. There are a lot of tutorials for using it on the web but I must say it takes a long time to fully learn. If time is something you don't have, then a freelancer would be the way to go if you have money.

If you have any further questions, please do say! :)

3. Hal

Hal