Book Recommendations Please

Discussion in 'Self Improvement and Being Successful' started by CommMajor101, Jun 17, 2009.

1. CommMajor101

CommMajor101
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Hello everyone,
    Newbie here. I'm interested in reading some books about how to understand what customers are asking for. Like what kind of questions to ask when talking to a customer who is having issues. All the books I have looked at just lump this into a section or sentence saying "Be sure to ask good questions that unveil what your customer is actually wanting." - but the books never go into detail about what those questions should be or things like that. Any recommendations out there about good books?

Thanks in advance.

2. Nazreen

Nazreen
    uix_expand uix_collapse

First of all, welcome aboard CommMajor101. Hope you enjoy your stay here in the Business Advice Forum.

Even though I was in customer service for the majority of my working life, I never read even one book about customer service. I've attended a lot of trainings and seminars though.

Anyway regarding your question, whenever I want to read on a particular topic, I usually go to Amazon and read the reviews there. Why don't you try this too?

3. Fergal

Fergal
    uix_expand uix_collapse
    Premium Member
    Premium Member

Welcome to our business forum CommMajor101.

I really enjoyed the business books written by Mark McCormack. Two of his books provide very useful information on how to listen to people and on how to sell to them. It's been some time since I read them, but I found them very informative and enjoyable at the time.

On Selling
    What They Don't Teach You At Harvard Business School

The customer reviews in the Amazon links above should give you a good insight as to whether the books can help you.