Backpacker-Adventure website

Discussion in 'Website Development & Design' started by derekosullivan, Nov 8, 2010.

1. derekosullivan

derekosullivan
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Hi Folks,

Ok, situation is:
    1. Probably going to be made redundant by end of year.
    2. Want to build website aimed at backpackers-adventurers, organising visas, work visas insurance, trips, SIM cards abroad, hostels etc.
    3. As this is a money conscious lot, commissions are tight.

So how can I make money from this? I'm passionate about this topic and I have a lot of knowledge/experience in the area and a company that will create a top class website. I'm just afraid it won't make money.

Your advice would be very much appreciated.

Thanks,
    Derek.

2. Kay

Kay
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Hi derek, welcome to Business Advice Forum and thanks for posting your question. :) I think it's great that you're planning now for possible redundancy. Coupled with the fact that you know a lot about the subject and particularly because you have a passion for it, I'd say you have a good shot at it. :)

Are you sure you want to go with a company that will create a top class website right out the starting blocks? Because when I hear you say that, I'm thinking expensive. Your website is not going to make money overnight. It takes time to build traffic and a following. If you're thinking you'll build it and the money will start rolling in right away, I'm afraid you need to burst that bubble now.