Are you naturally driven to succeed or do you push yourself?

Discussion in 'Self Improvement and Being Successful' started by Fergal, Aug 16, 2010.

1. Fergal

Fergal
    uix_expand uix_collapse
    Premium Member
    Premium Member

I'm the kind of person who needs to push myself and make demands on myself and I'm sometimes jealous of people who appear to be naturally driven and energised by something they are passionate about.

Does motivation and drive come naturally to you? Or do you need to continually push yourself forward towards your goals?

2. seanstevens

seanstevens
    uix_expand uix_collapse

It depends what I am working on. I sometimes find myself driven to get something done and won't stop until it is completed and other times I have to really push hard to get myself in gear.

3. Lingua21

Lingua21
    uix_expand uix_collapse

I used to be an IT consultant and had to constantly focus on deliverables in order to keep in work. As I spent a lot of time on support and call outs I had very little time for breaks.

My wife thinks that I am a complete workaholic and I need very little motivation. Having large bills to pay and having your own business to run is incentive enough to keep me on my toes.

I usually find that being organised and prioritising tasks gives me a more productive way forward. Also having a photograph of my two young daughters on my desk makes it seem all worth while.

4. businessamateur

businessamateur
    uix_expand uix_collapse

I used to have to push myself all the time. There was nothing that I wanted to do unless I really had to.

For the past few years, things have changed dramatically. I feel naturally driven to get things done. Its a good feeling knowing that once you really decide to do something, everything becomes easy.

I encourage everyone to believe in themselves. Nothing is ever as tough as it seems. You will be surprised at how much you can accomplish if you really wanted to!

5. Kay

Kay
    uix_expand uix_collapse