Application Development

Discussion in 'Website Development & Design' started by rudradhar, Jan 15, 2013.

1. rudradhar

rudradhar
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Hi Guys,

I am new in application development. I wanted to develop an app like Rank Tracker. Which language would be the best for developing this app.

Also provide me some useful resources for developing this app.

2. Fergal

Fergal
    uix_expand uix_collapse
    Premium Member
    Premium Member

Which coding languages do you know rudradhar?

Personally I'm not familiar with Rank Tracker, have you taken a look at it to find out which programming language it is developed with?

3. rudradhar

rudradhar
    uix_expand uix_collapse

I had a bit idea about C#. I don't know anything about Rank Tracker's coding.

4. dgeneschi

dgeneschi
    uix_expand uix_collapse

As that's a desktop app, you'll need to consider what GUI library you'll need to leverage and library support for other essential app functions. If you're only targeting windows and want to use WPF, you'll probably want to write the app in C# (though you could presumably use any language that's supported by the CLR like IronPython, etc). If you don't mind using something like Qt (http://qt-project.org/) for your GUI and/or need to be cross-platform, you might want to look at something higher-level like Python (and the excellend, supported PySide Qt bindings: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PySide). If your app is one that does a lot of web requests and page scraping/DOM-parsing (as it looks like Rank Tracker does) you also should make sure that you choose a language with strong library support for those things (Python has Requests and PyQuery for instance; C# has HTMLAgilityPack).

• Like Like x 1
  5. kristenhanna

kristenhanna
    uix_expand uix_collapse