Advice on Starting my own business

Discussion in 'Starting a Business' started by paco, Jul 21, 2011.

1. paco

paco
    uix_expand uix_collapse

My name is Dave Gregg. I am currently a student at IADT Seattle and I am studying Graphic Design. I am looking on starting my own business revolving around my Artwork, Photography and Tattoo. I think I have an understanding on how to start this but I am only being optimistic and can really use some advice. Any help would be deeply appreciated. Thank you and have a good day!!!:):D

2. daytrader

daytrader
    uix_expand uix_collapse

A friend started this kind of business back when DP was still a great place to start, he provide free graphic headers and logos or asking $5/each. he even did some for free in exchange for +reviews to help him promote his business using deviantart account as a porfolio.

3. JBMedia

JBMedia
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Although I do agree that DP has gone quite downhill as of recently, I wouldn't count them out. Here's some advice that I can give you.

1. Make your own website regarding your business - This will ensure consumers that you are the real deal and that you're their for business, which in your case to create them amazing logos, banners, and possibly even in the future websites.

2. Promote your services and site. You can do this online by installing key SEO tactics in your site and also by promoting on webmaster forums such as DigitalPoint, WarriorForums, SitePoint, and many other webmaster forums.

3. Make sure you do quality work. Word of mouth has and always will be, in my own opinion, the best marketing tool for businesses. Make sure you do quality work and tend to all of your customers needs and wants with a design project/job. That way, the word of mouth that's spread is positive.