Advice for Negotiating a Raise/Promotion

Discussion in 'Self Improvement and Being Successful' started by Marisa Casey, May 14, 2013.

1. Marisa Casey

Marisa Casey
    uix_expand uix_collapse

I could use a little pep talk and any tips or advice any of you have to offer!

In short: I'm an office manager making $40K/yr in the Phoenix area and my first annual review will be in the next week or so. The President of the company fancies me to be his executive support person, which I am happy to be as long as the promotion does not include changing my title from manager to assistant. I will be continuing most of my existing office managerial duties (all company travel, conference logistics, supplies, maintenance, etc...) plus taking on most of the president's calendar management, email and phone fielding, some marketing and promotional items, and spearheading the logistics of our upcoming office expansion (scheduling demolition and reconstruction, ordering new furniture, spacial planning, and liaising with all involved vendors.)

I need feedback primarily regarding the amount of money I should be asking for. I've done some varied research in terms of job descriptions that fit my duties, and the salaries attached to them. I've come up with a range of $44k - $81K and I want to be realistic and fair without undercutting myself. Is $58K too much to ask for if I pitch it in terms of:
    A.) A monthly bonuses based on overall sales since I am not eligible for a commission
    B.) The fact that since I did not negotiate for a higher salary from the start, the company has been essentially getting a discount for the last 12 months
    C.) This is more of a promotion with an applicable salary adjustment than it is a raise
    D.) Another individual in the company to whom I consider myself at least equal is making the salary that I am asking