Advice for going to Asia

Discussion in 'Self Improvement and Being Successful' started by Greetings, Oct 1, 2010.

1. Greetings

Greetings
    uix_expand uix_collapse

I have 5 years of engineering experience in petrochemical/energy industry international wise, due to the nature of my work, I see there is a huge potential in Asia with many opportunities. To take advantage on this, I plan to come back to Asia and study a quantitative-based master degree in finance, afterward, hopefully, I can land myself a finance job in those big engineering firms. (Oil and gas companies perhaps I-bank or other financial institutions if possible) Below is my questions that I need advice. I am bilingual in Chinese

Will I able to get a job in Asia? And with it pay back my master degree?

2. Kay

Kay
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Hi Greetings and welcome to Business Advice Forum. :) Have you researched the career opportunities there with the companies you'd like to work for? You may find they have a program you could apply for where they pay your tuition costs.

The Riley Guide has a list of resources and job sites related to International Job Opportunities, including in Asia. It may give you an idea on what's out there at the moment. By the time you get your degree and start looking though, things could of course be very different. I'd use that list to find companies and look at their careers pages on their own sites.

3. Greetings

Greetings
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Thank you very much Kay! I did research for the career opportunities in those company that I am looking for, but I got no luck due to the reason that whatever I am doing right now, is very technical and specific, so there is not much opening in Asia area for this kind of position, even they do, they are either looking for super senior level or the technical position but in the financial side, and that is why I am studying my master degree to prepare myself for the later case.