Accounting with human or software?

Discussion in 'Accounting and Taxes' started by fredrick.molby, Jun 28, 2012.

1. fredrick.molby

fredrick.molby
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Can people let me know what there preference is - Accountant or Accounting software? And also if software, what would your first choice accounting software be?

• Like Like x 1
  2. Mark T

Mark T
    uix_expand uix_collapse

3. Fergal

Fergal
    uix_expand uix_collapse
    Premium Member
    Premium Member

The most popular practice would be to use both methods, i.e. a human bookkeeper who uses an accountancy software package.

4. gogreenbusiness

gogreenbusiness
    uix_expand uix_collapse

I am an accountant and i say it's better to keep both of them... you see accounting software can make your job a lot easier, but you still need a real person to see if your system is providing you accurate financial data. Besides, accounting software doesn't have the capacity to initiate an adjustment on your accounting, which is most of the time, needed particularly on those moving accounts.

• Like Like x 1
  5. Life_is_good

Life_is_good
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Accounting with human and software.

6. DeniseTaylor

DeniseTaylor
    uix_expand uix_collapse

I agree with the above, speaking from a small, small business perspective. I help my husband with this business and we use Quickbooks. Quickbooks is awesome and very easy once you get it set up. The problem is keeping up with it (as I said, this is a small, small business). So having the human there to oversee and make sure it was up to date regularly is very important. Plus, humans make sure the computer is doing what it's supposed to be doing.

I probably wouldn't outsource our books completely to another person. That causes undue reliance on someone else. I think it's best to keep a portion of it in house and then outsource the important, especially tax-related tasks.

Your situation may vary, of course.

• Like Like x 1
  7. fredrick.molby