A few question about business practices

Discussion in 'Growing and Managing a Business' started by inexperienced, Jul 19, 2012.

1. inexperienced

uix_expand uix_collapse

Jul 19, 2012
    Hi everyone, I'm a recent college grad working for a small IT company in TN that acts as an outsourced IT department for small and medium businesses: places that are large enough that they need IT, but small enough they don't want to hire on full time staff. I'm a Systems Analyst and work on projects that involve integrating, evaluating, and updating software and hardware systems. Over the past few months, I've started paying more attention to the business side of things (I'd someday like to start my own business or move up to an IT managerial position), and have noticed a few oddities that I'd like to get some feedback on. I'm sure a lot of college grads feel this way when they first step out into the real world, and I have taken that into consideration when reflecting on the following points.

1. The bonus system

Being a small company, each of us wear many 'hats': some days I could work as an internal IT person, helping our own staff with their problems, other days, I could be working on a project for a customer. I don't actively seek out new projects with our customers, that is done by our project manager. When a project is agreed upon, I am then assigned tasks within that project. Depending on what I'm actually doing on that project, I get billed out at a different rate.